Ocean Cruising Club

Through our Annual Awards, the OCC recognises exceptional sailing achievements by blue water sailors inside and outside the Club. The OCC Awards are presented to recipients at the AGM and Annual Dinner in late March/early April and also at regional venues worldwide during the year.

Nominations for the OCC Awards may be submitted only by OCC members. Selections are made by the OCC Awards Sub-Committee and approved by the General Committee and Board.

Click here for the rules on nominating and to submit a nomination form online.

Awards open to All

OCC members may nominate anyone for one of these awards provided that the voyage or other achievement for which the nomination is being made finished no more than 18 months before nominations close on 31st of December:

OCC Barton Cup
First awarded 1981 - Presented by founder Hum Barton's adult children, twins Peter Barton and Pat Pocock, the base of this handsome two-handed cup displays a Commodore's burgee, taken ..
Read more & winners
OCC Jester Award
First awarded 2006 - Donated by the Jester Trust as a way to perpetuate the spirit and ideals epitomised by Blondie Hasler and Mike Richey aboard Jester, the Jester Award recognises ..
Read more & winners
OCC Award
First awarded 1960 - Recognises valuable service to the OCC or the ocean cruising community as a whole.
Read more & winners
OCC Seamanship Award
First awarded 2013 - Donated by Past Commodore John Franklin, this award recognises feats of exceptional seamanship and/or bravery at sea.
Read more & winners
OCC Lifetime Cruising Award
This award recognises a lifetime of noteworthy ocean cruising.
Read more & winners

Awards open to OCC Members Only

OCC members may nominate any fellow Full or Associate member for one of these awards provided that the nominee was an OCC member at the time he/she did whatever the nomination is being made for(with the exception of the Qualifier's Mug) and that the voyage or other achievement for which the nomination is being made finished no more than 18 months before nominations close on 31st of December:

Vasey Vase
First awarded 1997 - Presented by past Commodore Tony Vasey and his wife Jill, this award recognises an unusual or exploratory voyage made by a member.
Read more & winners
Qualifier's Mug
First awarded 1993 - Presented by Admiral (then Commodore) Mary Barton, this award recognises the most ambitious or arduous qualifying voyage published by a member in print or online. ..
Read more & winners

Awards open to OCC Port Officers and Port Officer Representatives Only

OCC members may nominate any OCC Port Officer or Port Officer Representatives for an award in this category:

Port Officer Service Award
First awarded 2008. Introduced at the suggestion of then Rear Commodore Mark Holbrook, these are awarded to Port Officers or Port Officers Representatives who have provided outstanding ..
Read more & winners
Port Officer Rally Award
Created in 2017, for an exceptional cruising rally organised by a Port Officer or Port Officer Representative (cruising rally defined as a rally of boats moving from port to port over ..
Read more & winners
Port Officer Events Award
Created in 2017, this award is for an exceptional single event organised by a Port Officer or Port Officer Representative.
Read more & winners

Awards not open to nomination

These awards are not open for general nomination are are decided by specific Flag Officers, Committees, or sectors of the OCC membership:

The David Wallis Trophy
First awarded 1991 - Presented by the family of David Wallis, Editor of Flying Fish from 1964 until 1990, this silver salver recognises an outstanding contribution to Flying Fish. ..
Read more & winners
The Vertue Award
“Vertue Award (given to a member in North America) for a voyage or service to the OCC by a North American member (judged by North American officers)” Named after the founder’s yacht, ..
Read more & winners
The Australian Trophy
First awarded 1990 - Presented by Sid Jaffe, twice Rear Commodore Australia, this trophy, carved from a solid piece of teak by Wally Brandis, is awarded for a voyage made by an Australian ..
Read more & winners

Special Awards

These awards are given in recognition of outstanding feats in the world of sailing:

2011 - Matt Rutherford
A Special Award was made in 2011 to Matt Rutherford, on completion of his astounding 309 day, 27,077 nm solo non-stop circumnavigation of the Americas in his 27ft Albin Vega St Brendan to raise money for CRAB, a nonprofit sailing program for people with disabilities.
2013 - Jeanne Socrates
A Special Award was made in 2013 to honour Jeanne Socrates for her solo non-stop circumnavigation, the first from North America by a woman and as the oldest woman to do so altogether.
2013 - Gerry Hughes
Gerry Hughes was presented with a Special Award on a truly remarkable accomplishment: having circumnavigated solo as a deaf man.
2018 - Captain Christopher Wells, Queen Mary 2
A Special Award was presented by Mervyn Wheatley to Captain Wells, Master of the Cunard liner QM2, for coordinating the rescue of Mervyn when his boat was hit by a rogue wave and severely damaged in the Atlantic during an OSTAR race for charity.

Archived Awards

These awards have been made in the past but are no longer awarded:

The OCC Award of Merit
One or more awards, open to members or non-members who have performed some outstanding voyage or achievement.
Read more & winners
The Rose Medal
Dirst awarded 1984 - Named in honour of founder Hum Barton's yacht Rose Rambler, the Rose Medal is awarded for the most challenging short-handed voyage made by a member or members. ..
Read more & winners
The Geoff Pack Memorial Award
First Awarded 1997 - Donated by IPC Magazines in memory of Geoff Pack, who at the time of his early death was Editor of Yachting Monthly and OCC Rear Commodore, this award goes to ..
Read more & winners
The Water Music Trophy
First awarded 1986 - Presented by past Commodore John Foot and named after his succession of yachts all called Water Music, this set of meteorological instruments set into a wooden ..
Read more & winners
The Rambler Medal
First awarded 1990 - Also named after founder Hum Barton's yacht Rose Rambler, the Rambler Medal is awarded for the most challenging short voyage (within three weeks and under 1000nm) ..
Read more & winners
The Endurance Award
First awarded 2007 - Created by Fred & Annie Hallett, then Rear Commodore USA South East, the Endurance Award recognises those who have demonstrated indomitable spirit and perseverance ..
Read more & winners