The OCC Annual Awards Dinner

The OCC Annual Awards Dinner

Ninety members were booked in for the dinner at Plas Menai, arriving from all directions, including as far away as Australia and British Columbia.

By Daria Blackwell - 11/04/2019

As Past Commodore Bill McLaren welcomed members and guests to Plas Menai, the cafe was transformed miraculously into an elegant venue. The Reverend Bob Shepton said grace and guests were seated.

The awards were announced in tranches between courses, leading up to the Club's premiere award, the Barton Cup. There will be detailed stories in the OCC Newsletter and in the Flying Fish, and a gallery of photos will be posted on the website.

Commodore Simon Currin gave an eloquent introduction to Bill Hatfield's exploits aboard s/v 'L'Eau Commotion', including prior attempts at solo non-stop circumnavigations that produced 'interesting outcomes'. Undaunted, Bill took off for a fourth circumnavigation attempt, but once again had a failure that forced a stop. Nevertheless, he completed his circumnavigation. Having come from Australia just for the weekend, when asked what he was planning next, he said without hesitation that he departs again shortly for yet another attempt. Perhaps we'll see Bill at the Awards dinner again.

José Azevedo of Peter Café Sport, great friend of the OCC, had flown in from the Azores with wife Maria for the event. At the AGM, a motion to elect José as Honorary Member of the OCC was approved and he was presented with a certificate. Later in the evening, José was presented with the OCC Events and Rallies Award for his role in the success of the OCC Rally to the Azores to commemorate the 100th Anniversary of Peter Café Sport.

Lin Pardey, who could not be with us in person, sent a short video from New Zealand to thank the OCC for awarding Lin and Larry Pardey the OCC Lifetime Sailing Award. The video will reside in the Video Gallery on the OCC website and can be viewed following the link below.

Jenny Crickmore-Thompson told attendees about presenting the OCC Award and the Seamanship Award to Des Cason and Dustin Reynolds, respectively, in South Africa a few weeks ago.

Dick Guckel, who could not be with us in Wales, was also elected Honorary Member and received the OCC Award for his twenty years of service to the OCC, chiefly in managing the monthly eBulletin; he didn't miss one issue in all that time.

Agustin Martin flew in from the Canaries to collect his Port Officer Service Award, the second such award he received for the great care he delivers to OCC members visiting the Canary Islands.

Finally, it was announced that Bob Shepton won the Photographic Competition held during the weekend with a picture of his boat in the icebergs of Greenland (unfair advantage!).

For a full list and descriptions of the Awards, please follow the links below.

Other Recent News Stories

OCC on Instagram

@ ocean_cruising_club